Why traveling can be hard sometimes

There is two sides to every story

At the risk of sounding spoilt and ungrateful, sometimes I don’t enjoy parts of traveling. And notice I say parts, because if you know me, you know that my biggest wish is a so-called “world citizen passport”. Of course it’s complete fiction ( disappointing, I know ), but for me traveling the world without borders would be a dream come true. What I am trying to say is, I love travel. I aim to spend whatever spare money I may have on travel and I hope that as I mature further that doesn’t change. However, I can’t help but feel sad sometimes, and I feel people should talk more about that.

IMG_3275Why does no one ever talk about the sad feelings you feel when you have to leave a place? I’ve left a piece of my heart in more places than I should, and every time I take that train, plane, etc back to England I cannot help but feel sad. Not because I am ungrateful, or because the time wasn’t nice. Most of the time my breaks away are special and perfect and make for incredible memories. But exploring a new city and getting lost, stumbling upon new food places and visiting incredible museums – no one does that at home. As soon as you land in the country you live permanently, you are flooded with responsibilities, emails, calls, and so on. It may sound like I have rose-tinted shades on, but does that mean that we should never travel so we wouldn’t escape our ( not necessarily, but at least for me at this point in my life ) boring everyday reality? I don’t think so.

I guess what I am getting at is that I encourage all of you to stay curious. Us as a generation are slacking a bit. We settle in our lives, but we demand the best from our travels. We are adventurous, but we are eager to go to exotic places and exotic places only. We are not willing to explore what’s on our doorstep, because the grass is always greener on the other side of the globe ( or so it seems to us ). I am guilty of it too. I dream of exotic destinations forgetting that I am so fortunate to have all of the beautiful UK on my doorstep.

IMG_3287

IMG_3284

Go for brunch at a new place, visit that museum that’s a 20 minute walk from you. For goodness’ sake, just do something with your life. Take a train and visit a new town. You never know what it may lead to. Don’t be afraid to travel anywhere. You will make good memories, you might make some bad memories, you will probably be sad when you leave – but it’s a good kind of sad, a sad that makes you look through the photos and smile and wish you were back. So work your ass off so you can come back.

IMG_3283

My dress is available here, my scarf is here, bag is here, and shoes are here.

What are your top travel destinations? I need to plan my future travels!

Love,

S xxx

3 thoughts on “Why traveling can be hard sometimes

Leave a Reply

